ADOPTED DORA

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

DORA HAS BEEN ADOPTED

D2020-054

Name: Dora

Age: 6 years old

Breed: Cocker spaniel

Fostered in: South Wales

Health Conditions: Dora has no known health issues.

NORA WILL NEED TO BE REHOMED WITH AT LEAST ONE RESIDENT DOG

Dora is a lovely gentle soul who likes nothing better than the simple things in life, a comfortable bed, bowl of food and someone to love. She really is adorable. She has typical spaniel traits – nose down sniffing, never walks in a straight line and really loves to please. She is keen on treats and quick to learn so someone who can put time into training and outside activities would be ideal for Dora.

People: Dora is a bit nervous around people when she first meets them, particularly men. However, if you are quiet and let her come to you, she will allow you to touch her. With foster mum she looks for attention and seeks touch. As she becomes familiar with people, she will wag her tail with pleasure and excitement. She has started to seek touch and likes her chin and tummy tickled. She loves a bath and will stand still for you to groom her.

Can live with children: Dora would be ok with older children (over 8) who would respect that she needs time to get to know someone. She is curious but nervous around busy children.

Can live with cats: Not tested.

Can live with other dogs: Dora has shown little interest in other dogs in the house unless they have something she wants when she will try and take it from them. Dora will need to learn some manners and has a tendency to guard things. However, she also has gained great confidence in the outside world by following the other dog and walks well on the lead with him with no issues.

In the home: Dora is house trained and will now go to the toilet on command. She is quite relaxed in the house but likes to be where foster mum is. She sleeps in her own bed in the bedroom.
Dora has had some issues with guarding her bed, toys, and the sofa. A firm but calm approach has worked so far in terms of correcting this behaviour. She knows ‘ in your bed’ and will go in there when asked too which is how we have redirected the guarding of resources. She can be left for about an hour in the crate with a Kong toy to occupy her without issue. Any longer than she currently starts to get incredibly stressed and howls. Dora loves the garden and will spend all day outside if she can.

Out and about: Dora had travelled in a crate in the back of the car. She has taken a little time to get used to the motion of travel but has not been unwell. Dora has started to enjoy going for a walk and is getting more confidence walking on lead. She uses a collar and harness. The vets have all said she is a darling as I think she just allows them to go whatever.

Type of home: Dora needs a home that understands a spaniel and is willing to continue developing her training and need to be outside. Dora also requires a home where someone is at home for most of the day as she loves to be with someone. I have not seen a particular bond with my dog but she has certainly learnt to be a calm and picks up on his body language and behaviour around things. She would benefit from living in a home with at least one other well balanced dog to help her reach her true potential as a companion and learn to be a dog.

Dora is neutered and up to date with flea and worming treatment. She is currently awaiting second vaccination.

Due to Covid19 lock down restrictions, we are only accepting local re homing applications.

%d bloggers like this: