Posie – 7-year old Cavalier

previous arrow
next arrow
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

Name:Posie

Age: 7-year old

Breed: Cavalier King Charles Spaniel

Can I live with Children: Older  

Can I live with cats: Yes

Can I live with other dogs: Yes, a must

Fostered In: Rhondda, South Wales

Posie is a 7-year old ex-breeding Cavalier, who is being fostered in Rhondda, South Wales. She is understandably quiet and not your typical bouncy spaniel. She spends large parts of her day sleeping or watching what everyone is doing from the safety of her bed but will wag her tail if you talk to her. She’s happy for you to go and stroke her gently and enjoys a brush. She loves her food her favourite being chicken. Posie has a grade 3 to 4 heart murmur which she is currently not having any treatment for but will need monitoring

People – Posie is currently nervous and likes the safety of her bed. She will run up and wag her tail with the other dogs when you first get up or come home but at a safe distance. She wags her tail if you talk to her but stops as soon as you touch her. She is happy for you to approach her and stroke her but this needs to be taken slowly as she isn’t used to human contact.

Dogs –  Posie  gets on well with dogs of all sizes and ages and would need a calm dog in her new home to show her the ropes

Cats – Not cat tested but no problems envisaged

In the home – Posie has been the perfect house guest. She is not destructive at all and can be left for reasonable periods as long as she has another dog for company, there is no need to crate her. She doesn’t play with toys yet but loves her food and has shown no signs of aggression. Toilet training is a work in progress and her new home will need to continue with this.

Out and about – Lead walking is new to Posie but she is happy to walk to and from the car on a lead and around the vets etc. She is starting to look keen to go for a walk with the other dogs in foster so as soon as she’s over her spay we will start introducing her to traffic etc but this will need to be built up slowly.

Type of home – Posie needs a quiet home with at least one other dog for company. She can live with children, but they would need to understand she needs time to settle and do things when she feels comfortable.  Part time workers would be fine. Her adopters will have to be patient with her house training and continuing her socialisation.

Posie is neutered, chipped, vaccinated and up to date with her flea and worming treatment. Potential adopters will be expected to travel to meet her in her foster home in Rhondda, South Wales

Click here for adoption form

%d bloggers like this: