9 July 2023

Sam *****ADOPTED*****

By Emma
previous arrow
next arrow

Sam D2023-62

  • Needs a resident dog
  • NO Cats
  • Older Children
  • Loving patient family who like to go walkies

Sam is an 18 month old Mini Labradoodle who says he doesn’t mind hoomans now. When I first arrived in my foster home I kept to myself but my foster family have been really patient with me. I kind of like them all now. I do bark when someone comes into the house but once I’ve checked them out, I am ok and settle down. My foster family refer to me as a goofball. I have really come out of my shell this week. I do like a cuddle so I am looking for a home who can give plenty of those.

There are times when I am a little noise sensitive and I do bark a little, my foster dad has noticed that it’s always in the evening, and it doesn’t last long.

When I’m on my walk I am not bothered by hoomans as most of them want to say hello because I am sooooo cute. I like to talk to the other dogs too. All my walks have been with a harness and on a lead and I am more than happy. Foster mum has tested my recall around the house and garden and I am a good listener but my new home will need to work on this outside of the home.

Cats I’ve not been tested but I did cross paths with a cat on one of my walks. My foster mum was thankful I was on a lead. So I don’t think I’d be good around cats they look too much fun to chase.

If you have children, I would prefer children who are a little older. I am ok around them it’s just that I am a little nervous with new people and I have been used to a quieter home (well at least I was before my foster home).

I sleep downstairs, my foster parents gave me a nice dog bed but I’m not sure about it and I slept on a blanket for a while, however my foster home has a comfy chair that I have grown to like and so that’s where they find me when they come down. I don’t like the stairs at all. I have been carried up but cling to the hoomans like a sloth does to a branch. If you want me to sleep on your bed, and I think I’d love that very much, you will have to build my confidence using the stairs.

I do all my business outside on my walk but I have had free reign of the garden. Though I do let you know if I need to go out if the door is shut.

I eat in a separate room from the resident dog but that’s more about them than me as they would eat my food as well as their own if they could.

I would like a slight quieter home than my foster home, they are lovely but oh my it’s busy with comings and goings. I would like a family where someone is home for part of the day at least. I can be left for a few hours but I like company. I would like my new family to be able to take me out as I do love to be out. I like to explore and sniff everything on my walks. I was an only dog but having had so much fun the last couple of weeks playing with the resident dog I would be ok with another dog.


Vaccinated, microchipped and up to date flea and wormer

Comes with 5 weeks free Agria pet insurance

Fostered in Newport